Having you! And. You!

“Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back, everything’s different.”
– C.S. Lewis

But every time you look back, there is one thing constantly standing behind you. You may think it is not possible, but you know that it is true, that it ‘is’ there, and you can’t help but smile. You had your family then. You have your family now!

Life changes. The most frequently called numbers in your list don’t even occupy the last spot. Your inbox remains full of mails from new contacts, new connections. You now carry the contact card of the Delhi Police officers with you. You start your first conversations on a more formal note than before. Some things, though, still are the same – the contacts saved in the “favorites” tab, the email addresses who have received even “Lol!” messages from you, the pen your father gifted you once, the diary your brother gifted you so that you can pen down your fascinations, the earrings your mother gave you for that matching dress! You still have all the lovely tokens from family! You still don’t need a reminder from them about how much they love you. They just love you. They love you for who you are. They love you for being a part of ‘their’ family!

I have a younger brother, who has now grown up enough to stare away the prying eyes on the roads. I have an elder brother who travels kilometres to just see me off. I have an elder brother who asks me about my studies going well. I have a younger sister who makes lovely collages with my photographs. I have an elder sister who talks to me through the night. I have an elder sister who is always ready to eat waffles with me! I have a brother who loves my writings and praises me after every post. I have a brother who is like a best friend and whom I talk rubbish with.

I have a lovely couple as my parents who are ALWAYS there for me; no matter what! I have grandparents for whom my voice is more than enough to make them smile. I have a family!

“How can we not talk about family when family’s all that we got?”
– Wiz Khalifa

There are times when you want to run from the hostel, back to the tranquility of your home, but then of course, how can you? So you decide to just go and lie down in the ground and stare at the sky till as long as it keeps absorbing the “world of thoughts” spinning around your mind. The sky is like family too. It doesn’t get tired of you, and never says it hates you! It is there for you when you need it. You can be your crazy self and not be judged. How does one not love it? It’s a little difficult to not love something so beautiful, something so dear!

People with families are fortunate people!

2 thoughts on “Having you! And. You!

Like it? Leave a comment.

